Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion

Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion

For a country in football, winning the world cup is what all citizens really want. Of course, this is an affirmation that this country is the best country in international football affairs.

However, in the world of football, especially the event once every four years, namely the world cup, has an interesting and unique story about the defending champions. Whether this is called a mere myth or accurate data is your business.

Read More

Most importantly, there are a number of interesting stories from the defending world cup champions who faced such difficult obstacles, namely not qualifying for the knockout phase of the next edition of the world cup.

Here, four countries that experienced bad things in the edition World Cup then when they managed to win the title in the previous edition in the last six world cups.


At the 1998 World Cup, France won the world cup for the first time. In the final round, Zidane et al. succeeded in overthrowing the favorite champion at that time, Brazil. At that time Brazil was defeated with a convincing score of 0-3 through Zidane's double and Petit's goal.

Unfortunately, in the next edition, namely the 2002 World Cup in Korea and Japan, France failed miserably. After only packing one point from a 0-0 draw against Uruguay. Meanwhile, the other two matches lost to Senegal and Denmark 0-1 and 2-0 respectively.

Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion
Source: www.fifa.com


On World Cup In 2006, Italy beat France on penalties after a 1-1 draw in normal time. Care team Marcello Lippi left for Germany with a heavy burden after several Serie A teams stumbled on the Calciopoli case.

In the next edition, 2010 in South Africa, Italy actually joined a relatively easy group. At that time, Italy joined Paraguay, Slovakia and New Zealand in Group F.

At that time Italy was stranded at the bottom of the final standings after only being able to pack 2 points from 3 matches. Draw against Paraguay and New Zealand and lose against Slovakia.

Indeed, that day became a nightmare for Italians after the previous edition was able to add a gold star to their football logo emblazoned on their chest.

Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion
Source: www.fifa.com


This team played very beautifully when they won the 2010 World Cup. Playing under the tutelage of Vicente Del Bosque, The Red Fury managed to beat the Netherlands with a score of 1-0 through Iniesta's single goal in extra time.

In the final standings of group B for the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, Spain seemed to have lost its way of playing after only scoring 3 points and was ranked third so it did not qualify for the knockout stages.

At that time, in the first match the Dutch were finally able to avenge the defeat in the previous edition with a convincing score, 1-5 through Robin van Persie's iconic goal. In the second match too, Spain was defeated again by Chile with a score of 0-2. Spain could only console themselves with a 0-3 win against Australia and was only able to sit in Group B standings.

Even though at first glance, the Spanish squad at that time was not much different from the previous squad at the 2010 World Cup. At that time core from Spain are still the two giant clubs, Barcelona and Real Madrid.


Germany is the 2014 World Cup champion. At that time, the team was nicknamed Die Team managed to overthrow Messi et al. with a narrow score of 1-0 through a substitute goal, Mario Goetze.

At that time, Joachim Low's team left for the 2018 World Cup in Russia with asks. How not, the goalkeeper is still standing firm Manuel Neuer. The defender sector is the duo Boateng-Hummels. The organizers of the attack are Ozil and Kross. Not to mention that there is Thomas Muller in front.

It's a thousand pity, the star-studded team was only able to perch in the last position of the final group F standings. Together with Sweden as group winners, Mexico as runner-up and South Korea in third place.

In the first match Germany defeated Mexico through a single goal from Hirving Lozano. In the second game they won in dramatic fashion with a stoppage-time Kross free-kick against Sweden. Meanwhile, in the last match, they were surprisingly defeated by South Korea through two goals in the final minutes.

Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion
Source: www.dw.com


Of the four countries, only Brazil has managed to circumnavigate that difficult hurdle. At the 2002 World Cup, Brazil managed to become a champion at that time. El Fenomeno Ronaldo managed to beat Germany 0-2 through his two goals.

In the 2006 World Cup, Brazil managed to wipe out three matches in the group phase. They overthrew Croatia, Australia and Japan with a goal difference of 7 to 1. Even in the round of 16, Brazil won against Ghana. However, the steps of Kaka et al. stopped in the last 8 by France through Henry's single goal.

Obstacles Ahead For The Defending World Cup Champion
Source: www.fifa.com

Now we just have to see how France progresses in the 2022 World Cup. From a historical perspective, France experienced this curse in 2002. Can France break this curse for the second time after Brazil? Or even France will follow their 20 year cycle exactly at the 2002 World Cup.

Let's watch together how Mbappe et al. how far will it go.


Related posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address Will not be published. Required fields are marked *